Jamaica's First Cabinet

The Cabinet of the Government of Jamaica is the principal instrument of government policy. It consists of the Prime Minister, and a minimum of thirteen other Ministers of Government, who must be members of one of the two Houses of Parliament.

However, not more than four members of the Cabinet may be members of the Senate. The Minister of Finance must be an elected member of the House of Representatives.



Front Row l-r: Edwin G. Allen, Robert Lightbourne, , Donald Sangster, Kenneth Blackburn, Prime Minister Alexander Bustamante, DC Tavares, K. Jones. Back Row l-r: R.A. McNeil, Hugh Shearer, Andrew Hill, J. Gyles, N. Ashenheim, H. Eldermire, Edward Seaga, L. Newland.


Front row l-r: Anthony Hylton, Sandrea Falconer, Noel Arscott, Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, Peter Bunting, Natalie Neita-Headley and Roger Clarke. Second row l-r: Omar Davies, Fenton Ferguson, Morais Guy, Lisa Hanna, Phillip Paulwell and A.J. Nicholson. Back row l-r: Mark Golding, Horace Dalley, Ronald Thwaites, Derrick Kellier and Robert Pickersgill. Missing from the photo are Peter Phillips, and Wykeham McNeill




Jamaica’ Governors-General from 1962-2012

6 August 1962 – 30 November 1962: Sir Kenneth William Blackburne

1 December 1962 – 28 February 1973: Sir Clifford Clarence Campbell

28 February 1973 – 27 June 1973: Sir Herbert George Holwell Duffus (Acting)

27 June 1973 – 31 March 1991: Sir Florizel Augustus Glasspole 

31 March 1991 – 1 August 1991: Edward Zacca (Acting)

1 August 1991 – 15 February 2006: Sir Howard Felix Hanlan Cooke

15 February 2006 – 26 February 2009: Sir Kenneth Octavius Hall 

26 February 2009 – Present: Sir Patrick Linton Allen


Jamaica’s Leaders from 1962-2012


First and only Premier: The Right Excellent Norman Washington Manley, M.M., Q.C., B.C.L., LLD (Hon.) (July 1959 – July 1962)


First Prime Minister: The Right Excellent Sir William Alexander Bustamante, G.B.E., LL.D (Hon.) (Aug. 6, 1962 – Feb. 27, 1967)


Second Prime Minister: The Most Honourable Sir Donald Burns Sangster, ON, KCVO (Feb. 22, 1967 – April 11, 1967)


Third Prime Minister: The Most Honourable Hugh Lawson Shearer, ON, PC, OJ, LLD (Hon) (April 11, 1967 – March 2, 1972)


Fourth Prime Minister: The Most Honourable Michael Norman Manley, ON, OM, OCC (March 2, 1972 – Nov. 4, 1980, &  

Feb. 13, 1989 – Mar. 30, 1992)


Fifth Prime Minister: The Most Hon. Edward Phillip George Seaga, ON, P.C., LL.D. (Hon.) (Nov. 4- 1980 – Feb. 13, 1989)


Sixth Prime Minister: The Most Honourable Percival Noel James Patterson, ON, OCC, PC, QC (Mar. 30, 1992 to Mar. 30, 2006)


Seventh Prime Minister: The Most. Hon. Portia Simpson Miller, O.N., M.P.

(Mar. 31, 2006 – Sept. 10, 2007 & Jan. 5, 2012 – Present)


Eighth Prime Minister: The Hon. Orette Bruce Golding (September 11, 2007 – 2011)


Ninth Prime Minister: The Hon. Andrew Michael Holness, M.P. (Oct. 23, 2011 – Dec. 28, 2011)

Source: Caribbean Current




Bookmark us!
Del.icio.us! Google! Live! Facebook! Slashdot! Technorati! StumbleUpon! MySpace! Yahoo! Ask! Free Joomla PHP extensions, software, information and tutorials.
Add New Search
Write comment
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.

3.26 Copyright (C) 2008 Compojoom.com / Copyright (C) 2007 Alain Georgette / Copyright (C) 2006 Frantisek Hliva. All rights reserved."