Bet Yuh Neva Know

Jamaica is the only Caribbean island that is completely surrounded by the Caribbean Sea

It is the largest of the West Indian islands and is referred to as the Isle of Springs

Jamaica belongs to the group of islands called the Greater Antilles

The island is divided into fourteen parishes further grouped into three counties - Cornwall, Middlesex and Surrey

Jamaica became an independent nation August 6, 1962

The Jamaican flag was first flown in 1962

In 1534, Spanish Town became the capital of Jamaica

In 1872, Kingston became the capital of Jamaica

The Tainos were the first people to settle in Jamaica

Manufacturing, tourism, bauxite and alumina are the most important industries

There are two international airports in Jamaica, the Donald Sangster International Airport in St. James and the Norman Manley International Airport in Kingston

Jamaica is the third largest island in the Caribbean

Sugar cane, banana and coffee are the most important crops

Most of the island is made up of limestone rocks

Montego Bay obtained city status May 1, 1987

Portmore obtained city status March 23, 2003