Bolt, Schippers head sprinters in World Athlete of the Year 2015 PDF Print E-mail

Jamaica's Usain Bolt and The Netherlands' Dafne Schippers have amassed the most votes in the sprints category in the first round of voting for the 2015 International Association of Athletics Federations World Athlete (iaaf) of the Year award.


Bolt successfully defended his 100m, 200m, and 4x100m titles at the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015. The Jamaican sprinter clocked a world-leading time of 19.55 when winning the 200m, and he now owns 17 gold medals from senior global championships.


Schippers clocked a European record of 21.63 to win the 200m title in Beijing to go alongside the silver medal she took in the 100m, where she set a Dutch record of 10.81. Earlier in the year, she set a world-leading mark of 7.05 over 60m.


The long list of candidates was chosen by members of the IAAF family in October.


The family, which includes members of the international press, members federations, and other IAAF affiliates, was asked to select nine men and nine women from the sprints, hurdles, middle and long distance, road running, race walking, jumps, throws, combined, and multi-terrain events.


The long list comprises the top-voted athletes in each category. An international panel of 10 experts will then select the finalists’ three men and three women the names of whom will be announced on November 17 and 18.


From those finalists, the Council of the International Athletics Foundation (IAF) will select the male and female World Athletes of the Year.


The announcement of the winners will take place live on stage during a special ceremony in Monaco at the IAF World Athletics Gala on Saturday, November 28.



Bookmark us!! Google! Live! Facebook! Slashdot! Technorati! StumbleUpon! MySpace! Yahoo! Ask! Free Joomla PHP extensions, software, information and tutorials.
Add New Search
Write comment
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.

3.26 Copyright (C) 2008 / Copyright (C) 2007 Alain Georgette / Copyright (C) 2006 Frantisek Hliva. All rights reserved."

< Prev   Next > (C)All Rights Reserved